Day 16

“Of the donkey and the well”

I’ve heard many stories during my time here. Some good, some bad, and some very ugly. But none stuck with me as much as the one [a councilor] told us today. Seeing as I am really not feeling overly insightful or really much of anything at the moment I figure I should jot it down, as best as I can remember, to share with my family it’s brilliance. Or perhaps with the world if I should ever get around to actually doing that blog thing [my sister] recommended I do. Well here goes:

On an old mans farm there was a donkey. He was an inquisitive one who would often get himself into the stickiest of situations and one day he went missing. The farmer looked around his farm for him for hours and hours before finally finding him at the bottom of his old dried up well. Realizing the gravity of the situation he was faced with, the farmer turned to his friend for advice. He asked him what he should do about the silly old donkey in the well and his friend offered him a few suggestions but unfortunately none seemed feasible.

 Finally the friend was down to his last idea and he said “your donkey is old and your well needs to be filled in anyway, so why not kill two birds with one stone and just fill in the well?” After a few moments of debate, the farmer reluctantly agreed and the two began filling in the well with dirt. After about 30 minutes they looked down the well to see the progress they had made and there, staring up at them, was the silly old donkey.

 Perplexed, they poured another shovel-full of dirt down the hole and watched as the donkey shook the dirt off it’s back and took a step up. The farmer was delighted and they quickly filled in the rest of the hole and freed the happy donkey, who upon escaping promptly bit the farmer. The moral of the story? If you try to cover your ass it can come back to bite you when you least expect it.

donkeh

This entry was posted in Recede to me (Blog series). Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 16

  1. Pamela Stockman says:

    Hey. I am very attracted to you. Are you attracted to me?

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

