Poem – Lines

“Lines.”

Moving pictures watch from the screen
and see my pixels on repeat.
The unsettling scene of a bending beam
begging for retreat.

Fire and ice, in concrete set,
Fear to take the reigns.
Lest we forget the man we met
when we breathed in lock and chain.

The shaking stars in broad array,
made to break the molten tin,
I pay to keep the walls at bay
when time is closing in.

The oath now broken to the dark,
set a sail to wandering wave.
Bled steel from nerve, time left to serve,
taking back all that I gave.

This beautiful book, my written heart,
filled with the days that I have seen.
My history for all to see.
My soul in the lines between.

Devin Ott
May 28th/ 2015

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

