Poem – Day Dreaming

“Day Dreaming.”

I awake to find I’m dreaming still
and it’s real enough to hold.
As a beautiful song, she drifts along,
and casts my memories in gold.

Her notes ring out in satin white
and forge a smile from ear to ear.
There’s a calm and peace, within her cheeks,
that draws me ever-closer near.

The future shines behind her eyes
and I can’t help but stare.
For the light I see, it captures me,
and runs it’s fingers through my hair.

Within her hands I am understood
as both the lion and the deer.
A man and boy, in mixed alloy,
whose path’s becoming clear.

For when I was young, I’d often dream
of starlight in the dark.
It’s complete beauty, passing through me,
gifting refuge to my heart.

That eternal prize without a price
now sits before my eyes.
I wake to dreams, so it seems,
and a beautiful sunrise.

– Devin Ott
May 17th, 2016

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

